• BEST IN STATE—Senior Courtney Schoen Lewis was named Best PR Student in Utah. Story

Aggie journalists win 17 regional Mark of Excellence Awards

March 18th, 2012 Posted in Opinion

LOGAN—USU journalist students have won 17 Mark of Excellence Awards from the Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ) for their work in print, TV, online and multimedia journalism.

The prizes will be awarded during the SPJ’s Region 9 annual spring conference in Denver next month. Region 9 is made up of colleges and universities in Utah, Colorado, Wyoming and New Mexico.

Lauren Rochester, SPJ’s national awards coordinator, says the Hard News Café staff won 13 awards, including Best Independent Online Student Publication at a four-year university. The top individual Aggie award-winner is D. Whitney Smith, for two HNC articles and two that appeared in the Utah Statesman, which won three awards. Aggie TV News’ Britta Anderson won one prize for outstanding general TV news reporting.

All the announced students are winners, Rochester said. The actual awards—first, second or third—will be announced at the Denver conference in mid-April. First-place regional winners advance to the national Mark of Excellence competition.

“We’re very proud of our students,” said JCOM department head Ted Pease. “It’s gratifying to see their excellent work recognized in this very competitive region.”

2011-2012 Mark of Excellence Awards, Region 9

Best Independent Online Student Publication-4 Year College/University: Hard News Café staff

Online Opinion & Commentary-4 Year College/University: Stephen Worthington, Max Parker Dahl, Jakob Asplund and Ben Zaritsky, Hard News Café

General Column Writing-4 Year College/University: D. Whitney Smith, The Statesman

Online Feature Reporting-4 Year College/University: Shirrel Cooper, D. Whitney Smith, Heidi Hansen, Hard News Café

Online In-Depth Reporting-4 Year College/University: D. Whitney Smith, Mandy Morgan, Hard News Café

Online News Reporting-4 Year College/University: Heidi Hansen, and Heidi Hansen & Cathy Morgan, Hard News Café

Television General News Reporting: Britta Anderson, ATV News

In-Depth Reporting-4 Year College/University: D. Whitney Smith, The Statesman

Sports Writing-4 Year College/University: Rhett Wilkinson, The Statesman


Tags: ,

Sorry, comments for this entry are closed at this time.